SYMPHONIC JAZZ ORCHESTRA'S 10TH ANNUAL GEORGE DUKE COMMISSIONING PRIZE COMPETITION

Submission deadline for \$5,000 prize: August 15, 2025 <u>www.SJOmusic.org</u>

GUIDELINES

PRIZE: \$5,000 commissioning prize to compose a new work for the 68-member Symphonic Jazz Orchestra ("SJO"). The newly commissioned work will be premiered by the SJO and entered into the SJO's catalog of symphonic jazz commissions. Winner will also receive a one-year Sibelius Ultimate license (AVID's music notation software).

PURPOSE: To commission new orchestral work for the SJO, blending the worlds of jazz & classical music – and beyond.

ELIGIBILITY: No age or geographic restrictions.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: August 15, 2025

MATERIAL TO BE SUBMITTED:

- Completed application form: SJO's 2024 George Duke Commissioning Prize Entry Form https://forms.gle/7ZiUm8APdNH3DtBD6
 - Representative score of ONE original instrumental work written since 2015. Ideally, this work is scored for full orchestra, chamber orchestra, or large ensemble that integrates elements of jazz or other related genres. Please include your name and the name of the piece. Please attach into the entry form in PDF format.
 - Recording of the work or an electronic realization (optional).
 Please attach an MP3 audio file.
 - o Composer biography as well as a list of compositions.
- Email info@sjomusic.org with any questions!

JUDGES: Members of SJO's Music Advisory Board

ADMINISTRATION RIGHTS: The composer agrees to assign the rental administration of commissioned work (the "Composition") to Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Music (the "Administrator"), the publishing designee of the SJO. Administrator will print all orchestra parts and scores. The composer will retain the copyright of the commissioned work. Administrator shall have the exclusive rights to include the Composition into its catalog of commissioned works and to rent print versions of the Composition to other ensembles.



MITCH GLICKMAN MUSIC DIRECTOR

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Steven Bland
Anne Finestone
Kerri Glickman
Mitch Glickman
Jan Glusac
Jinko Gotoh
Vinita Khilnani
Christopher Kronick
Jill Lawrence
Joseph Lewczak

MUSIC ADVISORY BOARD

Billy Childs
John Clayton
Rashid Duke
Peter Erskine
Russell Ferrante
Mitch Glickman
Christian McBride
Bob Mintzer
Lesa Terry
Ernie Watts

CONTACT

info@sjomusic.org